Skip to content

Walah! Best Kodachrome Yet…

September 24, 2009

So I quickly finished up my Maine, October 1988 slide scanning and have also remembered some small details about that trip.  I believe it was our first time to Brattleboro, Vermont and we stopped at an old used bookstore that was housed in a barn called I think, The Bear Bookshop.  What I am also realizing now was that I didn’t appreciate the “old” books then probably as much as I would today.  Even though I remember Keith did find a book he wanted…I have such a different appreciation for what I might find there today!

Maine, Oct. 1988 - Kodachrome SlideSo onto my Kodachrome slide, So for this trip, this is my favorite slide.  When I found it I knew it right away.  I had an 11 x 14 print of  one very similar in a horizontal format  that hung in our old house on Fenimore Road.  I do remember when we found the boats I was very excited.  I loved the colors of the water, paint and wood all together.  It also seemed inviting to me.  I wish even right now I could jump in a boat and go for a ride. 

I’ll have to pace myself with the slide scanning…I probably have 20 trays of 140 slides each to do…but maybe I’ll keep sharing some of my favorite old Kodachromes I find along the way.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Victoria permalink
    September 24, 2009 6:34 pm

    I have that photo hanging in my house. You probably don’t remember that you gave it to us for a wedding present, lo these many years ago. Love it! Maybe you gave us your version. Anyway, it still lives on in the guest bathroom – hey it’s one of the few nice pieces of art i have and everybody see it there…

    Victoria

  2. Lynn permalink
    September 24, 2009 8:44 pm

    Pam, good luck with the new blog! This picture is wonderful!

  3. Danni permalink
    September 28, 2009 3:00 pm

    Ohh! I remember the Bear Bookshop! What a wonderful place. And this photo is so beautiful. What a find!

Leave a Reply

