Skip to content

U2! U2! U2!

October 4, 2009

I can’t believe I couldn’t find time to write my review of this post earlier but u2-1the week has gone crazy fast and here we go!  We got to see U2 at FedEx field on Tuesday, Sept. 29, 2009 along with lots of people…(would love to know a crowd estimate).

At any rate while the acoustics weren’t very good at FedEx field it was just a lot of fun to be there.  We had a fun cheese party u2-2in the parking lot “tailgating” with Nicole and Brent before the stadium opened and a fun time exploring the stadium once we were inside.  There were some incredible moments during the show that I just need to highlight  including during Sunday Bloody Sunday when Bono pulled a young man wearing a turban up on stage with him and they both belted out the song.  The image of the young Sikh with the u2-3American flag around his shoulders with the Irishman singing about stopping war was very powerful.   The a capella rendition of Amazing Grace leading into Where the Streets Have No Name was just another incredible moment. 

The other thing about the concert that was so powerful was their stage.  It was truly amazing how the set had a life of it’s u2-4own and the incredible circular screen became like artwork to me.  I had a little point and shoot camera with me and took a bunch of pictures.  We were so high up that it was great to have the screen just to be able to see but it was amazing how it drew you in and kept you mesmorized.  All in all it was a very fun night — wish I could go to a U2 concert once a month — just good for the soul!  Follow the link to see more of my concert photos.

Here was the playlist from the evening
.
Breathe
Magnificent
Get On Your Boots
Mysterious Ways
I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”Stand By Me” snippet 
Elevation 
Your Blue Room 
Beautiful Day”Blackbird” snippet 
New Year’s Day 
Stuck In A Moment You Can’t Get Out Of 
The Unforgettable Fire 
City Of Blinding Lights “Mofo” snippet 
Vertigo 
I’ll Go Crazy If I Don’t Go Crazy Tonight Remix version; “Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough” snippet 
Sunday Bloody Sunday 
MLK 
Walk On
 
Encore:
One”Amazing Grace” snippet 
Where The Streets Have No Name 
Ultraviolet (Light My Way) 
With Or Without You 
Moment of Surrender

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

