Skip to content

An Anniversary to Note

October 7, 2009

So today would have been my parents, Rod & Bev’s 48th wedding polaroid1-greentackanniversary.   It’s crazy to me that they aren’t here to celebrate it but hopefully somewhere in the heavens they are noting it and smiling.  It seems bittersweet for me to think about big life moments revolving around them.  I can’t believe on one hand they are both gone and that here I am  feeling too young to be the oldest of their children wondering why they had to leave this earth already.    I know they had a rocky beginning.  They met in Plattsburgh, New York where my dad was stationed in the Air Force and my mom was from Montreal.  They got caught with a visit from the stork and needed to plan a wedding quick… Life wasn’t so easy for them as newlyweds with a baby (me) on the way.  They had rodbev-weddingdayno money, not much support from their families  for their situation and no green card to even be together.  But they managed to raise 3 kids and stay married for 38 years before Rod died in 2000.   I wish this post was a happier one – I know they had happy moments but I also know they had a lot of not so happy moments too.  These anniversaries have become for me reminders that they aren’t here.  Maybe in 2 years on their 50th anniversary it might feel different or maybe I’ll be more focused on holy cow I’m turning 50 soon!  

There’s an Indigo Girls song that has lyrics in it that I sometimes ponder when the meaning of life seems to get a bit intense for me and I need to gain some perspective,

     I’m trying to tell you something about my life
     Maybe give me insight between black and white
     The best thing you’ve ever done for me
     Is to help me take my life less seriously, it’s only life after all

from the Indigo Girls, Closer to Fine

So Happy Anniversary Mom and Dad.  Hope there’s lots of laughter and smiles where you are!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    October 8, 2009 8:15 pm

    Thank you. My parents have not been making it easy to figure out how to honor their 50th this year, and a reminder to have a little more gratitude (though I know that wasn’t your intention) was much needed. Isn’t it funny how the universe gives you what you need even when you don’t know you needed it!

    • October 9, 2009 12:18 pm

      It is comments like that Elizabeth that are the reason you have been and are one of my favorite people.
      Kiss

Leave a Reply

