Skip to content

Old Emails Coming to the Surface

October 14, 2009

Nicole just sent me an email that Keith had sent her back in 2005 when Erin was just 10 years old…granted she’s only 14 now but that seems so long ago as Erin has grown up so much since then.  It’s a keeper and I had to post it here just to hang on to it.  Thanks Nicole for sending it my way – so good for my soul!!

Erin’s homework was to ask your family about the day you were born and then write two paragraphs about it.  We talked to her for at least an hour and then she went and wrote this.
 
The Day I Was Born
By Erin Rutter

The day I was born was a very special day for my family.  They had been waiting forever because I was two weeks late from my due date. I was born June 12th,1995. My parents did not know my sex before I was born.  On Sunday, the day before I was born a lot of things were happening from my three family members. It was a normal Sunday just like on Sunday’s now. On Sunday, June 11, 1995 at 8:00a.m. everyone was doing their morning routine.  At 8:30 a.m. they went too church.  At 1:00p.m. they ate lunch. They had a lazy afternoon.  Then later that evening when it came to be about 9:00 pm my mom started to have contractions. She didn’t know how long the contractions would last but knew I was finally on my way.  At that point she called her really close friends, Victoria and Mike because they were going to help take care of Jordan and be there with my mom while I was being born.  My mom and Victoria stayed up all night. During this whole time my mom was very tried. Labor was really rough on her.  It hurt a lot in her back. Finally around 5:00 a.m. they called the Maternity Center where I was going to be born. They called to tell them she is in labor and coming because she thinks she’s ready to have the baby. Once they got there, the midwife said she still has time the baby is still a while away. My mom was in so much pain she said to them what can I do to get this baby out. The midwife said if you want it to come out go walk a lap or two on the track across the street at Walter Johnson High School .  My mom said, “if that will help, then great I’ll try.”  She got about ½ way around the track and said to my dad and Victoria, “I can’t do it anymore.” Then  my dad and Victoria helped my mom back because she could not really walk or think or anything because she was so exhausted. 

During this time Mike (Victoria ’s husband) was with Jordan and they went to KFC and then to make little buisness cards while they were at the mall. When they finally got my mom back in from the track, her body still wasn’t ready to have me.   My mom was so tired she told my dad, “I do not want to have the baby anymore I am tried of it.” So they told her to hop into the jacuzzi and try to relax and in  no more than 15 minutes,  she said “ I need to push! The baby is coming.”  This got the midwife running and she said, “Don’t jordan4push!  first we need to get you out of the jacuzzi.”  While my mom was walking to the bed, she barely made it and the midwife pushed her onto the bed and barely caught me and there I was. The midwife joked with my dad that I came out so fast I had skid marks on my forehead! They finally got to know that I was a girl. I weighed 9 pounds 2 ounces and was 21 inches long and had ten fingers and 10 toes! My parents were so happy.  My dad called right away for my sister to come over and Mike said she jumped up and down screaming “I have a sister!”  So my dad started calling all my grandparents and our friends telling them about me.  My mom went to sleep for awhile.  About 5 hours after I was born, they took me home and put me on the floor in my car seat and let my dog sniff and lick me so that Katie would know I was part of her family.  

My family had fun remembering the day I was born and said it was one of the most special days in their lives.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Victoria permalink
    November 7, 2009 8:50 pm

    Awwww. What a fabulous day! I remember it well which is saying something these days. So proud of the young woman Erin is growing up to be. Thanks so much for sharing.

    V –

Leave a Reply

