Skip to content

Kohlrabi Ham Bake – Yummy!

November 20, 2009

The light green oblong shape is the Kohlrabi behind the green peppers.

So I wanted to make sure that I shared this recipe with you about this strange little vegetable I learned about this year.  The first time I learned about it was early this summer when Ingrid brought one into the office.  She had raised it from a seed in her garden.  It was about the size of a pine cone that could fit in your hand.  She cut it up in pieces and gave us a chunk to try.  It was interesting unlike anything I’ve really ever had before…kind of a mix between cabbage, broccoli stems and radish.  That all sounds kind of strange when you write it down.

So in my CSA box recently 3 kohlrabi’s showed up and then they sat in my refrigerator for a while.  I was starting to feel guilty.  They weren’t necessarily appealing to me.  I decided to hit google.  I found some ideas and printed the Kohlrabi Ham Bake one.  It had the most stars the most comments.  I thought ok I’m gonna try it. 

I should have taken pictures all the way through but sometimes that is just work too.  It wasn’t easy to peel-in fact it was kind of tough.  I diced it up and had Erin come and try it raw with me.  Kinda tasted like I described above. 

Kohlrabi Ham Bake

Then I sauted it in butter and we’re tried it again. WOW! it was amazing we got so excited about this dish and could begin to see the possibilities.  Long story short – the Kohlrabi Ham Bake was terrific!  Some of the best flavors we’ve had in a long long time.  It was so unusual and fun.  Try it you might like it!

Kohlrabi Ham Bake

3 Tbsp butter
4 kohlrabi, peeled and diced
8 ounces thick ham, diced (I used a pre-cooked ham steak from Costco)
2 Tbsp fresh chopped parsley
3 egg yolks
1 cup heavy cream (I used 1 cup 1% milk)
2 Tbsp all-purpose flour
Pinch of Nutmeg (I grated some fresh)
Salt and freshly ground black pepper

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees farenheit.  In a large skillet, melt the butter on medium heat.  Add the diced kohlrabi and gently cook for 8 to 10 minutes.

2.  Beat the egg yolks and whisk in the heavy cream, flour, nutmeg, salt and pepper until well combined.

3.  Place half of the cooked kohlrabi on the bottom of an oven-proof casserole dish (I sprayed mine with Pam first). Layer on the diced ham and parsley.  Top with the remaining kohlrabi.  Pour the sauce ingredients over the kohlrabi and ham.

4.  Bake for 30-35 minutes or until lightly browned on top. Serve immediately.  Serves 4.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

