Skip to content

My Avon Walk Training Begins!

March 3, 2011

So my journey begins to walk for a cause! I will be walking with my brother Wayne this July in San Francisco for the Avon Breast Cancer Walk.   I’ve been thinking this might be one of the hardest things I’ve ever done…training to be able to walk 26 miles one day and then the next day get up and walk 13 miles. Ok so maybe there have been a couple things that might qualify as harder…having babies …bearing witness to the cancer that took my Mom’s life.

In some ways thinking back to when my Mom was with us there was certainly a lot of physical pain and care taking that I now wonder how I did but there were many “gifts” that came during that time …lots of love shared by family and friends with her and me and my brothers, grace, support, moments of truth of the past, present and future.

So my decision to join my brother Wayne and do this walk 3 years after my Mom died is partly because I need to. I have some grief that I really need to work through and push to a really positive place and I think this will just be a crazy intense thing to do with Wayne and for myself and in honor of 6 special women that are dealing with breast cancer now or are survivors…and for my Mom (Beverley), my co-worker Beth, and my Great Aunt Jane who all left this world far too young because of breast cancer.

So asking for your help in raising money to help get rid of breast cancer and help those who are fighting it is an easy thing to do. We all know too many people who have breast cancer or some other kind of cancer.

I hope to keep writing here about my training as it begins. I have some ideas for some special training walks that I would love for folks to join me. And I want to have a party or 2 between now and July 9 to celebrate the people we know that are survivors and they women who now are wonderful memories for us to hold on to.

So keep checking back and I sure do appreciate your support in helping to raise my share of money to fight this disease.

Check out my personal Avon walk page and make a donation to fight breast cancer today!  Here’s a link for you to get there: http://info.avonfoundation.org/goto/pamrutter

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

