Skip to content

The Day After the First 5 Mile Walk

March 6, 2011

Ok…so here it is straight…we walked 5 miles yesterday.  All in all I felt really good.  Wish there would have been a bathroom somewhere along the route.  I’ll definitely have to think that through f or longer walks.  I’m guessing on the Avon walk the Jiffy Johns will be all along the way.  While we were in the neighborhood of our home…we were never that close that running home was really an option … probably would have taken the wind out of my sails to get back on track. But all in all the 5 miles took us about 1.5 hours which I thought was pretty good.  When we were pretty close to home Keith asked me if I thought I could go another mile and I probably could have but I was pretty tired till we stopped.  Things I know about myself from walking…I sweat a lot! And while I get thirsty I’m a big baby about carrying anything.  So I’m thinking on actual Avon walk day I’ll be carrying very little.  I’m considering a fanny pack that could hold my phone.  I’m hoping to have an iphone by then so I also think that might be my camera of choice for the walk.  While I know that I’ll wish I had my Nikon D90 I just don’t think I’ll really be able to deal with it on me the whole way.  I’m also hoping that I can twitter while I walk and receive texts from people encouraging me on.

Ok so now the down side…while I did really well yesterday…today when I woke up boy was I sore.  My back hurt and just ached.  It’s about 4pm now and I feel pretty good now…if it weren’t raining I’d go for a walk.  I’m anxious to get the training materials and see what is advised because I get nervous thinking ok so I walk 26 miles but then I get up the next day and walk another 13 … am I gonna be able to do that?

So I’m looking for tips and pointers about how to get this out of shape body ready for this event.  Share what you know with me…I’m eager to listen!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    March 10, 2011 7:19 pm

    I’m so proud of you for doing this. I think it will help you gain mental, emotional & physical clarity. Here are my lessons learned from my renewed commitment to exercise. Good shoes & sportsbras are key. If your sweatiness bothers you splurge at Target on two walking outfits that are fast wicking fabric. Feeling cute will also motivate you. Go out at least 5-6 times a week, even when it seems hard, selfish, inconvenient or whatever. Doing a quick 20 minutes is better than nothing. It isn’t always going to be ideal, but the choice isn’t between ideal and nothing. Sometimes something is good enough. You can do it! I love you.

  2. Danni permalink
    March 18, 2011 1:45 pm

    Everything Elizabeth said, plus stretching afterwards! Calves, hamstrings, quads, lower back, and (believe it or not) arms. You won’t feel half so sore, or even sore at all. A great stretch for the lower back is the cat stretch (http://www.pilates-back-joint-exercise.com/cat-stretch.html). And as much as you may hate carrying the water, drink lots of it during and after. I’m so impressed with what you’re doing! You’re amazing!!

Leave a Reply

